Thailand: Map/Geography

map The Kingdom of Thailand, covering an area of 514.000 square kilometers, lies in the heart of Southeast Asia, roughly equidistant between India and China. It shares borders with Myanmar to the west and north, Laos to the northeast, Kampuchea to the east and Malaysia to the south. Topographically the country is divided into four distinct areas: the mountainous North, the fertile Central Plains, the semi-arid plateau of the Northeast, and the peninsula South distinguished by its many beautiful tropical beaches and offshore Islands.

Thailand has a population of 65 million people. The capital city of Thailand is Bangkok with about 10 million people living there. The second-largest city of the country is Chiang Mai (called the "Rose of the North") with about 170.000 people.

Thailand can be divided into 4 regions namely:
The Central Region
The Northern Region
The North Eastern Region
The Southern Region

The main religion in Thailand is the Buddhism. About 95 % of the citizens of Thailand are Buddhists. Beautiful Buddhist temples can be found everywhere in the country. The most important temple is the Temple of the Esmerald Buddha in Bangkok.

Go one Level higher Thailand Slide-Show